# **Area Planning Committees**

The Council has established two Area Planning Committees; The North Planning Committee and the South Planning Committee.

The purpose of the Committees is to consider all planning applications not dealt with by officers using delegated powers.

These Rules detail the membership of the Committees and what the roles and responsibilities of the Committees are.

#### **MEMBERSHIP**

Each Committee shall comprise 11 Councillors who shall represent a ward that falls within the defined area of the Committee. All committee members shall have undertaken relevant training prior to attending meetings of the committee. The Committee shall be politically balanced based upon the defined area covered by the Committee.

### **SUBSTITUTIONS**

Named substitutes. Substitutes must have completed relevant training.

Political groups may nominate their own members to the pool in accordance with the proportionalities in force at the time and may vary their nominees as and when required, by written notification to the Proper Officer, subject to the training requirements referred to.

## **CHAIRMANSHIP**

The Chair and Vice Chair of each committee shall be appointed by Annual Council.

Any in-year vacancy for either position will be subject to election by the relevant Area Committee at their subsequent ordinary meeting.

#### QUORUM

The quorum shall be 5 voting members (whether full or substitute members).

## TERMS OF REFERENCE

To exercise the Council's functions relating to town and country planning and development management in relation to all planning applications that are not dealt with by officers using delegated powers.

Any planning application (not dealt with by officers under delegated authority) where the red line of the site crosses the boundary between the two committee areas shall be considered by the committee within which the largest area of the site is located.

